Academic Senate Special Celebration Meeting Summary for June 3, 2021

Voting Members									
Senate President	David Andrus	Х	Learning Resources Senator	Peter Hepburn	Х				
Vice President	Lisa Hooper	Х	Personal & Professional Learning Senator	Garrett Rieck	Х				
Immediate Past President	Rebecca Eikey	Х	At Large Senator	Ambika Silva	Х				
Curriculum Chair	Lisa Hooper	Х	At Large Senator	Jennifer Paris	Х				
Policy Review Chair	Gary Collis	Х	At Large Senator	Erica Seubert	Х				
AT Senator	Regina Blasberg	Х	At Large Senator	Rebecca Shepherd	Х				
MSHP Senator	Shane Ramey	Х	At Large Senator	Mary Corbett (via phone)	Х				
VAPA Senator	David Brill	Х	At Large Senator	Benjamin Riveira	Х				
Student Services Senator	Garrett Hooper	Х	Adjunct Senator	Tammera Rice proxy for Lauren Rome	Х				
Humanities Senator	Marco Llaguno	Х	Adjunct Senator	Carly Perl	Χ				
Kinesiology/Athletics Senator	Philip Marcellin	А	Adjunct Senator	Aaron Silverman	Х				
SBS Senator	Tammera Rice	Х	X= Present	A= Absent					
Business Senator	Gary Quire	Х							

Non-voting Members							
Dr. Omar Torres		Dr. Paul Wickline	Α				
Marilyn Jimenez	Х	Nicole Faudree (COCFA President)	Х				
Dan Portillo (Warren Heaton AFT Rep)		ASG Student Representative (David Gonzales)					

Guest								
Alisha Kaminsky	Х	Dilek Sanver-Wang	Х	Joy Shoemate	Х	Paul Wickline	Х	
Anh Nguyen	Х	Dr. Kathy Bakhit	Х	Kelly Burke	Х	Ryan Thuele	Х	
Collette Gibosn	Х	Helen Graves	Х	Maral Markarian	Х	Siane Holland		
Dr. Daylene	Х	James Glapa-	Х	Michelle LaBrie	Х	Wendy Brill-Wynkoop		
Meuschke		Grossklag						
Desiree Goetting	Х	Dr. Jasmine Ruys	Х	Mike Harutunian	Х			
Dr. Diane Fiero	Х	Jennifer Smolos	Х	Patty Robinson				

A. Routine Matters

Call to order: 3:06 pm
 Public Comment: none
 Approval of the Agenda

 Motion to approve the agenda by Rebecca Eikey, seconded by Gary Quire. Votes collected using the Zoom participant's window. Unanimous. Approved.

- 4. Committee Appointments:
 - Selection Committee Appointments (pg. 2)
 - These committee appointments were listed on this agenda due to the urgency to approve these committees for summer 2021.

C. Action Items

Below is a list of items that the Senate will take action on. Discussion is welcomed by all attendees.

- 1. Faculty Receiving Emeriti Status June 2021 (pg. 3)
 - a. Faculty honored on Academic Senate Emeriti website
 - b. Faculty Emeriti List Revised 5.25.21
 - Sandy Caroll (Nursing/Health): Sandy came to COC in 2006 as an adjunct and within a few months was hired on full time as a Nursing instructor. The Nursing Dept. congratulate Sandy on her retirement but are sad to see her go. She has been a great contribution to the department. Motion to bestow Emeriti status for Sandy Caroll by Rebecca Eikey, seconded by Ambika Silva. Unanimous. Approved.
 - Vincent Devlahovich (Geography/Geology & Earth Science): Vincent has worked closed with underrepresented students at the Hart District at Golden Valley and Canyon High schools. Vincent served as COCFA Treasurer and President of COCFA President. Motion to bestow Emeriti status for Vincent Devlahovich by Carly Gott, seconded by Rebecca Eikey. Unanimous. Approved.
 - 3. Patti Haley (EMT/Health Sciences): This is Patti's 15th year as a Nursing instructor.SB Tucker shared some thoughts. Patti has taught many EMT students. During the past 5 years at COC she has been part of the Mentor Program. Patti is credited for developing the LA County Skills Book. This booklet is still currently being used by hospitals as it includes a disaster plan written by Patty she developed as a handbook 20 years ago. Patti has made a huge contribution to COC, LA County, the profession of EMS and the community.

 Motion to bestow Emeriti status to Patti Haley by Regina Blasberg, seconded by Gary Quire. Unanimous. Approved.
 - 4. <u>Lee Hilliard</u>: Lee started at COC as a student and is one of the 1st graduates of the CISCO Academy. Lee is part of the Breakfast Club with the school. He is very driven and has assisted with the creation of a 4 year articulation program. Lee was a member of the Academic Senate and also served on the Curriculum Committee. **Motion** to bestow Emeriti to Lee Hilliard status by Regina Blasberg, seconded by Gary Quire. Unanimous. Approved.
 - 5. <u>Chuck Lyon</u>: Check started at COC in the fall of 1973. Chuck turned COC into a football power house from 200-2006, winning six consecutive conference championships, playing in two State Championships, and winning the State and National Championships. **Motion** to bestow Emeriti status for Chuck Lyon by Lisa Hooper, seconded by Garrett Rieck. Unanimous. Approved.
 - 6. <u>Jose Martin</u>: Jose has been known to use puppets to make his classes more interesting. Jose was involved with COCFA. Jose is a bright individual with a great sense of humor. He made many contributions to the college such as the TLC, GLA's, Academic Freedom and many other areas. **Motion** to bestow

- Emeriti status to Jose Martin by Marco Llaguno, seconded by Rebecca Eikey. Unanimous. Approved.
- Svetlana Onthank: Svetlana was educated in Great Britain and the United States.
 Alene Terazian shared some thoughts for Svetlana. Svetlana climbed Mt.
 Whitney and is planning to travel soon. Motion to bestow Emeriti status for
 Svetlana Onthank by Marco Llaguno, seconded by Rebecca Eikey. Unanimous.
 Approved.

E. Special Recognition

Below are items that the Senate will discuss and no action will be taken. Discussion is welcomed by all attendees.

- 1. Faculty receiving Tenure for spring 2021 (pg. 4)
 - a. Faculty honored on Academic Senate Tenure website
 - i. A list of faculty who have achieved Tenure status was shared. The Senate President congratulated all faculty who have achieved Tenure status. Faculty thanked those in their departments and on their Tenure Committees for their support, collaboration, help and guidance through the Tenure process.
- 2. Academic Senate recognition to all members of the Senate
 - a. At-Large Senators have completed their 2 year terms of service. Faculty were awarded a Certificate of Appreciation for finishing out their term. The Senate President gave special thanks for their terms of service. A list of the newly elected At-Large Senators was announced. Most At-Large Senators will continue for a second term and Mike Hartunian will begin his new term as the newly elected At-Large Senator.
 - b. President gave special thanks to all FTF for serving on the Academic Senate and for being patient, supportive and being collaborative with each other. It is possible that Academic Senate meetings will resume in person, in some form, for fall, 2021 or spring 2022. The hope is also to have a large Special Celebration meeting for faculty. Faculty thanked David for serving as President and are appreciative of his guidance.

H. Adjournment: 3:58